Garden Overhaul Stage 2

So, we’ve been busy in the garden lately. Well, as much as Melbourne weather will allow us to be.

I thought I’d give you all an update on where we’re at.

We have started pulling plants out of the garden beds and either giving them to friends or relocating them to a new spot. In my last post (Garden Overhaul Stage 1) I showed this photo, showing what our garden looked like:

Before we started the overhaul

Midway, before we moved the yucca over:

Midway

Here is now what that same bed looks like:

Stage 2 of the Garden Overhaul

As you can see, we have removed quite a lot. My girlfriend took all the roses for her mother and the rosemary bush. I pulled out quite a few of the pansies (and the rest will be going shortly too) and we have moved the yucca over so we can pull out that small section of the garden bed and extend the pergola. We have also planted a Cabernet Cordyline to add some colour. The yucca/cordyline pattern will be continued down the rest of that garden bed too with some sort of flowers in the to add some colour.

I’m not sure what to do about that passion-fruit just yet. It looks like it will be  beautiful rather shortly so we are contemplating moving it down just a little although how it will go being transplanted I have no idea just yet (Does anyone have any ideas here?)

We also found out the name of the Shaggy Dog plant (You can see it on the very right of the photo). It is a Mini Cog Acacia, an Australian native, and it shall be staying in the garden. We think we might relocate it to the front garden though which will one day become a courtyard (We’re on a corner block so we’ll extend the backyard)

I know it’s all looking a little bare compared to how it looked but once we finish getting things planted and put more mulch down it shall be much simpler but still just as beautiful. I’ve also yet to decide what sort of flowers I do want in that garden bed but I do have a funny feeling that for every freesia and jonquil bulb I did manage to pull out of the garden beds I left 2 or 3 in there so no doubt over time I will have plenty of flowers popping up anyway.

I’ll try and get some photos up of the front yard and what we’ve been doing there, just thought I’d give a quick update on that small garden bed for now. We’ve also been busy working away on our To-Do List (And adding to it!!) so I’ll have an update on that soon too!

For now, I’m just going to keep enjoying this beautiful weather we’ve been having =)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Garden Overhaul Stage 2 (clickittome.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

