Garden Overhaul Stage 1

Yep, okay so another two weeks have gone by since my last post. I am getting really naughty with this aren’t I?

I have been so flat out with work lately, it has not been funny. I am in the middle of starting my own business. It’s been a year now and it’s starting to build faster than I had anticipated and there’s only me… That means my job description is Boss lady, Accounts, Designer, Printer, Saleslady and… cleaner! haha! You can see why I’m so busy =)

Not only that though, but in any spare time we have, we are busy doing work around the house.

Our hot water service died on us the other day too, we were always planning on getting a new one as our hot water was only lasting around fifteen minutes, apparently the gas valve or some such thing had gone in it, and then it just completely stopped working. We weren’t planning on replacing it so soon but we didn’t really have a choice in the end. I guess that’s called “Welcome to being a home owner”. LOL! I do slightly miss being able to call the landlord and say “Fix it now please!!” without it costing us anything, but on the upside, this place is all ours to do with as we please.

So…..

The gardens need quite a bit of thinning out. Don’t get me wrong, there are some beautiful plants in our garden, but there are far too many of them and no real order to anything.

In one garden bed we have a mix of yuccas, freesias, jonquils, pansies, roses, rosemary, passion fruit and some sort of little shrub that my husband has called “Shaggy dog”  because we are yet to find out it’s name (Do you know it?). Quite a mix hey?

A mix of yuccas, roses, freesias, jonquils, pansies and more

A closer look

 

Another example: In another garden bed there is a beautiful magnolia that is currently flowering, box hedges, daisies, a lemon tree, two native gums (I think they are gums) another ‘Shaggy dog’ and some sort of hedge.

The other garden bed – Magnolia, Daisies, Lemon tree…

And don’t even get me started on the front garden.

You can see my problem. There is just too much going on and come Spring (Which is now only 2 weeks away) everything is going to flourish and instead of looking neat and tidy (Remember, I’m a neat freak guys!) it’s going to look like a mish-mash or craziness.

Hence, the thinning out part.

My plan for today (should the Melbourne weather oblige me) is to get in there and make a start on it. I’m a drought tolerant, hardy plant type of girl so most of the plants will be going, except for the yuccas.

I love clean lines and easy to maintain gardens and am thankful the garden beds are already here as it saves us having to build them.

I have a girlfriend coming over today too so she’s going to take the roses and a few other bits and pieces (Whatever I can convince her to take! haha!) and then we can finish clearing out the garden beds and start planning.

The other reason why we need to take them out is because we are going to extend the pergola by a meter or two and we can’t do that until the beds are clear.

Our pergola

Please excuse the lawn too, we currently do not have a lawn mower so it has been a little neglected. I also need to buy some ‘weed and feed’ for it.

So there you have it. I will keep you updated on our progress… oh and did I mention I am also looking after my four nieces today? With Miss A being 4, the twins being 5 and oldest Miss M being 6 I wonder how much we’ll get done? =)

Trackbacks

  1. […] garden beds and either giving them to friends or relocating them to a new spot. In my last post (Garden Overhaul Stage 1) I showed this photo, showing what our garden looked like: Before we started the […]

Leave a Reply

